Tony Knowles on Gun Control

2004 former Democratic Challenger for Senate (AK; previously served as Governor)

Oppose reauthorizing the federal assault weapons ban

Q: Would you support the ban on assault weapons?

KNOWLES: No. I opposed reauthorizing the federal assault weapons ban and closing the so-called “gun show loophole.” I am a strong supporter of the entire Bill of Rights, including the Second amendment right to keep and bear arms and would oppose any infringement of those rights, including a ban in any other form.

MURKOWSKI: I do not support the extension or resurrection of the ban on semiautomatic, assault-style weapons.

Source: AK Senate Debate, Q&A by Fairbanks Daily News-Miner Oct 10, 2004

Support the right to bear arms

Knowles supports the right to bear arms as guaranteed by the Second Amendment and outlined in the Alaska Constitution. Knowles also believes it is the responsibility of the states to determine which weapons citizens may own & where they may be purchased. Knowles does not support legislation reauthorizing the assault weapons ban or banning a firearm, or legislation to close the so-called “gun show loophole.” He supports the bipartisan immunity legislation for gun manufacturers currently before Congress.
Source: Campaign website, TonyKnowles.com Jun 30, 2004

Other governors on Gun Control: Tony Knowles on other issues:
AK Gubernatorial:
Sean Parnell
AK Senatorial:
Lisa Murkowski
Mark Begich

Newly seated 2010:
NJ Chris Christie
VA Bob McDonnell

Term-limited as of Jan. 2011:
AL Bob Riley
CA Arnold Schwarzenegger
GA Sonny Perdue
HI Linda Lingle
ME John Baldacci
MI Jennifer Granholm
NM Bill Richardson
OK Brad Henry
OR Ted Kulongoski
PA Ed Rendell
RI Donald Carcieri
SC Mark Sanford
SD Mike Rounds
TN Phil Bredesen
WY Dave Freudenthal
Newly Elected Nov. 2010:
AL: Robert Bentley (R)
CA: Jerry Brown (D)
CO: John Hickenlooper (D)
CT: Dan Malloy (R)
FL: Rick Scott (R)
GA: Nathan Deal (R)
HI: Neil Abercrombie (D)
IA: Terry Branstad (R)
KS: Sam Brownback (R)
ME: Paul LePage (R)
MI: Rick Snyder (R)
MN: Mark Dayton (D)
ND: Jack Dalrymple (R)
NM: Susana Martinez (R)
NV: Brian Sandoval (R)
NY: Andrew Cuomo (D)
OH: John Kasich (R)
OK: Mary Fallin (R)
PA: Tom Corbett (R)
RI: Lincoln Chafee (I)
SC: Nikki Haley (R)
SD: Dennis Daugaard (R)
TN: Bill Haslam (R)
VT: Peter Shumlin (D)
WI: Scott Walker (R)
WY: Matt Mead (R)
Civil Rights
Foreign Policy
Free Trade
Govt. Reform
Gun Control
Health Care
Homeland Security
Social Security
Tax Reform

Search for...

Page last updated: Aug 15, 2011